Loving It

Last week I met with a running group that meets once a week downtown.  It has an interesting format.  Communication is done via Facebook as seems common these days.  The route is published the evening before.  It’s a four mile route and is an out and back, so if you do the total route, it’s eight miles.

The group was very casual.  We met outside of a local pub and chit chatted a little before taking off.  Everyone was pretty well on their own to go their own speed and distance.  I was familiar with the area, as the route went through a neighborhood that I lived in many years ago.  I decided to run to the elementary school that was across the house I used to live in and back.  I was doing a run/walk as my ankle is still healing and went about two and a half miles.

I didn’t go far, and it wasn’t strenuous, but it felt really, really good.  It felt good to be outside again and to be moving.  I was reminded of how much I love running–that is once I got out there and got going.

Beforehand, I was dismayed.  Here it was the middle of the week, and there was a city-wide marathon on Saturday.  Most people in the group were running the marathon, some the half.  One person had run a marathon the weekend before.  All everyone talked about was how they were sick of running!  One person even commented that he was considering quitting running after the marathon.

I never had the desire to run a marathon, and I certainly don’t now.  I run for two reasons:  (1) I love it, and (2) I need the exercise.  I don’t ever want to be in a place where I don’t love running anymore.  And, if that means not training for a marathon or any other event, I’m ok with that.

Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever
circumstances I am.  Phil 4:11

 

Leave a reply

