Why I Run

Why I Started

At first it was a challenge–a huge challenge.  I had completed a 12-week Commit to Get Fit program through my community center.  I had a personal trainer that I met with once a week.  It was tough, and he knew I wanted to leave the gym feeling like I had been through the wringer.  However, the program was long enough and I worked hard enough that I was seeing results.  My trainer convinced me that I could do anything I wanted to, so when I saw the flyer for the Couch to 5K program, I decided to give it a try.  I knew I could run for a whole minute on the treadmill, so surely I could work up to a 5K.

Why I Continued

There were some days, a lot of days, that were really tough.  My first run with my Couch to 5K group was the hardest.  We were to run for 60 seconds and then walk for 90.  It was the shortest 90 seconds of my life!  Our coach told us that the first day was the hardest.  At that moment it was hard to understand, but he was right, and I realized that as time went on.

What kept me going was the support I received from the coaches and from a friend.  There were so many times that I wanted to quit with the thought that running wasn’t for me, but the encouragement I got from those around me was incredible.  I had so many people telling me that I could do it and not to give up, that I kept going.

Why I’m a Runner for Life

It took a while, a long while, for me to fall in love with running.  I love that I can continue to challenge myself.  There’s always some way to improve whether it’s with a faster speed or a farther distance.  I can compete with others if I want, or I can compete with no one but myself.

I love being outside.  This wasn’t always the case, as I was allergic to everything, but that has also changed.  Since I started jucing and eating lots of fruits and vegetables my allergies have disipated so being outside is much more enjoyable now.  Getting some sun and fresh air almost every day feels great.

Running is a simple sport that I can take anywhere.  Running does not require a lot of equipment.  The most important thing all runners need is a good pair of shoes.  Beyond that, most things are optional.  Having the right clothing will make it more comfortable, and I do have some lights and refelctive gear that I use for running at night.  In the big scheme of things, this equipment is all very inexpensive and can be obtained a piece at a time.

In the end, it’s all about feelings.  Running makes you feel great.  There are so many days that I don’t want to run.  I make myself do it and am always glad that I did.  I end up feeling so much better afterwards.  It feels great when the air is cool and crisp to have the sun warming your skin.  When it’s hot and you think you’re going to melt, a soft, gentle breeze feels equally as wonderful.  Going out and accomplishing what you said you’d accomplish is always a satisfying feeling.  That doesn’t always happen, and some runs are better than others, but the “runners’ high” is always there no matter what.

I also run to encourage others.  It has been a life-changing experience for me, so I know it can be for other people as well.  Not only that, I know that if I can do it, anyone can.  That anyone could be YOU!

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win.  1 Corinthians 9:24

 

One thought on “Why I Run

  1. Pingback: A Blessing in Disguise? – LoriCamper.Com

Leave a reply

