Make Your Own Energy Bars

Sometime last year I saw a video on how to make these energy bars.  I put it on the back burner and let it percolate for a while.  At the time I had found some protein bars that I could buy that really tasted great.  I could get them at an affordable price, so I went on buying them.  Eventually, I was no able to get them at that great price, and I noticed that every time I ate one that I would get really, really thirsty afterwards. I decided that for my pocketbook and for my health, it was probably better to make my own so that I could control the ingredients.

I invite you to take the recipe and make it your own.  Experiment by using different nuts, seeds, dried fruit, etc.  I have stuck to almonds on this one because it’s a nut that no one in our house is allergic to.  I have tried various seeds and dried fruit as they are available and as they go on sale.  Some I like better than others but all have been delicious.  The important thing is that everything is raw, not roasted, unsalted, and no added sugars.

As a side note, I never did see an attribution for this recipe; so I am unable to give credit to the creator.

Almond Berry Energy Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup raw, unsalted almonds
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (berries are best, make sure there is no added sugar)
  • 1/3 cup coconut, no sugar added
  • 1/4 cup pitted dates
  • 1/8 cup raw, unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chunks or chips (optional)
  • salt to taste (optional)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line the bottom of an 8X8 baking dish with parchment paper.  Grease the sides with coconut oil.  Believe me, the hardest thing about this recipe is getting it out of the pan!

In a medium size bowl, mix dry ingredients except for the chocolate.  If you like your bars chunky, set aside 1/2 cup of the mixed dry ingredients.

img_20161224_121705680

Add the bowl of dry ingredients (except for the chocolate) and the remaining wet ingredients to a food processor.  (I used dried blueberries for my fruit in this one.)  Blend well.

img_20161224_122041820

Pull the blade from the food processor and add the chocolate chips and the 1/2 cup of dry ingredients that was set aside.  Stir well.

Place the mixture into the 8X8 baking dish.  Use a spoon to spread and pack well into the dish.  Bak at 350 F. for 25 minutes.  Make sure your bars are well done so that they will stick together.  The edges should be brown and the center should be firm to the touch.

Remove from the oven and let cool for 30 minutes before removing from baking dish.  Go around the edge of your dish with a knife and make sure they are all free from the pan before flipping the bars out onto a cutting board.  Once removed, allow the bars to cool to room temperature before cutting.

img_20161224_135301400

Once cooled, cut your bars to the desired size.  I cut mine into 10 bars.  Wrap your bars in foil and store in the fridge.  I keep mine in a gallon ziplock bag so they’re easy to find and I know how many I have left.

img_20161224_135636475

These are great before or after a workout.  Sometimes I have 1/2 before a workout and 1/2 after.  They really go great with a glass of nut milk.  They are also easy to take with you.  You can put one in your purse or jacket pocket if you’re out running errands and think you might need a snack while you’re out.

Please tell me about any variations you try.

Enjoy!

Leave a reply

