Less Than Palatable

There’s nothing like food and family.  That seems to be what Thanksgiving is all about for most of us in America.  It is the biggest travel time of the year–people traveling to be with family.  I am fortunate enough that all of my immediate family is close by.  We can all be together for every holiday.

This year was no different in that there was more than enough food for everyone.  We had the traditional Thanksgiving fare of turkey, potatoes, gravy, stuffing, and rolls, as well as various casseroles, salads, and desserts.  It seems like every family dinner we end up with more food as if we’ve lived through a famine and are afraid there won’t be enough.  This year we had so much food that there was no place to put it all.  Our solution was to stack the desserts on top of each other.  It brought a whole new meaning to the words ‘food pyramid.’

As I do every year, I looked forward to this meal.  Not only to the time with family, but to the food itself.  Most of the dishes that were served I only fix twice a year (Thanksgiving and Christmas) simply because we’ve changed our eating habits.  When dinner was served, I fixed my plate.  I took a little of everything and filled my plate with turkey, potatoes, stuffing, a roll, and a few more dishes–all loaded with carbs.

I had spent three weeks planning this meal, shopping for groceries, and then actually preparing the food.  That was three weeks of thinking about what was to come.  How delicious it was all going to be.  Then, I took my first bite and another and then another.  Let’s just say that I was severely disappointed.  This salt and carb-laden food which I had spent three weeks looking forward to consuming no longer tasted good to me.

Overall I thought this to be a good thing and thought how I would make different choices for Christmas dinner especially since I will not be hosting it and fixing the main courses.  What frightened me were the things that DID taste good–the chocolate brownies and the cheesecake.  I also remember taking a swig of Coke a few weeks ago and for the first time in over two years it actually tasted good.  I felt like a back-slidden sinner.  It scared me to death.  Evidently, my palate still needs some work.

Looking on the positive side, I did manage to get in a run Thursday night.  It did make me feel a lot better after having a heavy dinner.  And, I was pleasantly surprised to find Friday morning that the scale had not moved.

7 thoughts on “Less Than Palatable

  1. I’ve actually cme to dread these big food occasions, in part because I don’t participate: For so many years I ate what was expected despite it making me feel ill, bloated, uncomfortable, abdominal pain, hiatus hernia, acid reflux and so on and so on. 3 years ago I changed all that and am now happy with what I eat and don’t eat. However, when the family gets together, we still have to provide for their tastes (though we have made a few small changes), and while they are all tucking in and overstuffing themselves, I just wait for it to be over. I am not going back to feeling ill every time I eat, but I have to sit through the questions from the younger members about why I don’t eat this or that and I know the older ones think I sit there in judgement. My mum feels like she’s neglecting me and I’m missing out when I decline her offer of a takeaway meal when she visits. None of them really gets that I actually now enjoy what I have instead of suffering from it. Well done you for sticking with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

