305 lbs. Couch to 5K, Part 2

When I started the Couch to 5k program, I already had an exercise routine that I was committed to five days a week.  There was a class called SET (Strength Endurance Training) that I went to on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.  I really enjoyed this class, especially the weight lifting part of it.  I was getting stronger, and I loved it.  On Tuesday and Thursday afternoons I went to a Zumba class.  When I tried this class for the first time, I went to it for one reason only:  it had the word “fun” in the description.  It was a lot of fun.  It was a lot of work, too.  I joined the Couch to 5K program very skeptical as to whether or not I could even do it, so I stayed with my other workouts as well “just in case.”

On the second day of the Couch to 5K program, I went to my Zumba class, gave it all I had, and came home exhausted.  I had about an hour before I had to go to Couch to 5K, so I went home and tried to recover the best I could.  I remember sitting in the recliner with my feet up and drinking a protein shake and lots of water.

I went to Couch to 5K and asked our coach, Mike, if it was feasible to still go to all of my other classes and participate in the Couch to 5K program.  He thought I should be able to do that without any problems.

Our run for the second night was the same as the first:  run for 60 seconds, walk for 90 seconds and repeat for a total of 20 minutes.  This time we did the whole 20 minutes since we did not have an initial meeting before we started running.  We started at the community center, headed out down the road for 10 minutes and then turned around and came back.  This made the second half of the run mostly uphill.

I soon ended up at the back of the pack.  It was the middle of summer.  It was hot and humid, and I felt like this program was way beyond my ability.  I was huffing and puffing and gasping for air.  The 90 second walk was not near enough time to recuperate.  Looking around, I was definitely one of the oldest and largest people there.  People of all shapes and sizes were passing me by as if this were a stroll in the park.  I ran as much as I could and walked when I couldn’t run another step.  Still, I did my best.  Day two was in the bag.

By Lori Camper

2 thoughts on “305 lbs. Couch to 5K, Part 2

  1. Be careful. You don’t have to run. A mile walked burns the same calories as a mile run… When I was 250 pounds I tried running.. wound up with plantar fasciitis … surgery, recovery… a major set back. Run if you love it 💕👍

    Like

Leave a reply

