2 Days, 2 5K’s

I ran another 5K with my daughter and a group of friends Sunday morning.  This one was bright and early at 7:00 am.  A cool front had come through, so the weather was nice and cool.  It was about 60 degrees when the race started.  It was great running weather!  Knowing the course and knowing what to expect is always a plus as well.

This course was the same course as the SuperDad 5K that my daughter and I ran on Father’s Day.  It was amazing what the difference in the weather made that day.  My focus leading up to the race was to get the nutrition and rest that I needed to get up at the crack of dawn and run three miles.

We all did well and ran the entire race without walking.  My time was a little slower than I had hoped, but my pace time was where I wanted it to be.  Overall, it was quite an improvement over the last race I ran.

My daughter got 3rd place in her age group, and our friend Isaac got 2nd place in his age group for running the 10k.  There’s nothing like being in a group of winners!

Monday night I went to meet with our running group, and our coach said, “We’re going to run a 5K tonight!”  I was not feeling up to a 5K Monday night.  I had just finished a 5K the day before.  I knew I could do it.  I didn’t think I needed to prove anything to myself Monday night.

So, I didn’t.  I cut a few corners and made it through.  Tuesday I felt good and refreshed.  We worked on speed, and I gave it all I had–just like I did on Monday, just like I did on Sunday.

The human body in some ways is like a machine.  Many factors can effect its performance, especially maintenance.  Physical activity, like running, is more than just physical.  It is very much a mental activity as well.  If you’re not in the right mindset, if you’re telling yourself that you can’t do it; then you won’t.  It’s important to listen to your body as far as pain and injuries, but when it comes to physically completing a task (like a 5K) all that’s needed is your knowing that you can do it.  Having friends and family around you (see photo above) that will tell you that you can do it when you’re doubting yourself is vital in the beginning.  Once you quit doubting yourself and know you can do it, all everyone else needs to do is get out of the way!

By Lori Camper

3 thoughts on “2 Days, 2 5K’s

Leave a reply

