Father’s Day SuperDad 5K

I ran another 5K with my daughter and friend on Father’s Day.  This was my worst 5K performance ever, but I was still happy with it.

The race took place in a park that we were familiar with.  It has a nice, flat, shaded trail throughout the park.  The race didn’t start until 9:00, so we were looking forward to the shade trees.

The race started, and we took off in another direction.  The course was still flat, but it was gravel which meant slower moving.  There was also not a shade tree in site, and I made the fatal mistake of wearing black.  It was very hot, no breeze at all, and the humidity was so thick you could cut it with a knife.

The last part of the race was on the paved trail amongst the shade trees.  It was a nice relief.  Still, it was not enough.  I was struggling.  Everyone was struggling.

I ended up walking a big chunk of the last mile.  I was not alone–there were a lot of other runners walking as well.  Still, I finished.

This was my worst 5K time ever by about 20 seconds.  We all had poor times.  Still I was happy with my performance because I gave it my all and did the best that I could.  Not only did I finish, I was second place in my age group.  You don’t have to be THE best, you just have to be YOUR best.

By Lori Camper

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day SuperDad 5K

  1. Pingback: 2 Days, 2 5K’s – LoriCamper.Com

  2. Pingback: 305 lbs. I Will not be Afraid – LoriCamper.Com

Leave a reply

