305 lbs. How did I get here?

I was always the “husky” kid.  I was overweight, but not obese.  I was always the kid that needed to lose 10 or 20 lbs.

As a kid, my weight fluctuated.  I would gain several pounds during the winter and take it off during the summer.  Living in the Midwest, that was easy to do.  We had cold, snowy winters and hot, sunny summers.  We didn’t have air conditioning until I was in high school, so summers were spent outside running, playing, and riding bicycles.

When I became an adult I continued to put on a little weight every winter, but it didn’t come off during the summer months.  I was no longer spending my summers outside.  I was spending all year sitting at a desk.

Five pounds a year for 30 years and there you have it–305 pounds total.  I did try to lose weight a few times.  I tried a few fad diets, but could never stick to them for very long.  The most success I had was with a high protein/low carb diet.  I quickly lost 40 pounds. I also quickly got tired of eating nothing but meat, eggs, and cheese.  After losing 40 pounds, I planned to take a break and then lose 40 more pounds.  I could never make myself go back to the diet, and I eventually gained back 80 pounds.

I had a few miscarriages in my late 30s and then a baby at the age of 40.  I continued to pack on the pounds.  I eventually had two high schoolers involved in sports and a toddler that I could not keep up with.

I finally gave up.  I never believed that my weight was something I could control.  I decided that I was “fat and sassy” and that there was nothing I could do about it–at least about the fat part. I never really was a junk food junkie, but I had my vices (chocolate, ice cream, and Coca Cola).  I had spent the last 20 years taking care of others instead of myself, and it showed.

By Lori Camper

Leave a reply

