Santa: The Big Fat Lie

1914 Santa Claus in japanIn Who needs Santa when you’ve got Jesus? Matt Walsh writes about the awesomeness of Jesus and how he is far superior to Santa.  His post reminded me of our own family history.

As a child, my parents taught me that the worst thing you could do was tell a lie.  At the age of three, I was still an only child; and my parents decided it was time to let me know that Santa was “just pretend.”  My response was to shout at the top of my lungs, “You lied to me!  You lied to me!”  The fact that Santa wasn’t real was not nearly as shocking to me as the fact that my parents had lied to me.

Due to my response, my parents decided to be up front about Santa, the Easter Bunny, etc., not being real.  My sister was always told that they were pretend.  We still put up stockings and my parents still played Santa, but we all knew where everything really was coming from.  I think it made us appreciate our gifts and our parents more knowing that everything was coming from them and not some mysterious fat guy that snuck into our house once a year while we were sleeping.  (Kind of creepy if you think about it.)

We carried on the tradition with our kids.  We always told them Santa was pretend and that we would have fun pretending.  It was nice being honest about it and still just as much fun.  The tough part was getting the kids to keep quiet about it.

The toughest one has been our youngest.  She has quite the imagination.  And even though we have always told her that Santa is pretend, she keeps insisting that he is real!  One of these days she’ll realize that we’ve always told her the truth.

By Lori Camper

Leave a reply

