Veteran’s Day Mail Bag

Letter Carrier Delivering Mail
Letter Carrier Delivering Mail (Photo credit: Smithsonian Institution)

Yesterday afternoon I received this beautiful letter/email:

 

Hi aunt Lori,
I just wanted to say…..
I just wanted to say…

Thank you for stepping forward when others step back.Thank you for placing yourself between us and danger.Thank you for delaying plans for college, marriage, and other opportunities and choosing to serve.Thank you for braving the unspeakable horrors of war.

Thank you for sacrificing time with your families and missing those significant milestones the rest of us take for granted.

Thank you to your spouses who find themselves living nomadic lives, often far away from the support of loved ones.

Thank you to your children who accept your absence as a way of life and understand they share you with a nation and sometimes the world.

Thank you to your parents who have nothing but prayers to protect you and must now trust you will be safe and that we will offer the best we have to you.

Thank you for continuing to support your country once you leave military service by following new careers and becoming the teachers, clergy, business owners, employees, pilots, civil servants and so much more that we need to be a successful society.

Thank you for involving yourself in your local community, your state, and your country, helping us to solve problems and to create a vision for our future using the skills you learned during your tour of duty.

Thank you for serving as a heroic example of who we are and what we can dream to be.

Thank you for your service.

The military can be a grand life, but there isn’t a fighter squadron, destroyer, or combat team that doesn’t know what it is like to lose people. Even in peacetime, soldiering is dangerous work and always has been.

I just wanted to thank you for your service!

Love,

Gabby

I hesitated whether to respond.  Was this spam?  Was it a hoax?  After checking the headers of the email, I replied,

Dear Gabby,
Thank you for the beautiful letter.  Unfortunately, I have done none of these things.  I think you must have me confused with someone else.  Maybe you have an aunt named Lori, but I don’t think that I have a niece named Gabby.
Lori

I did get a response from Gabby stating that it was a simple slip of the fingers which caused the email to end up in my mailbox instead of Aunt Lori’s.  At that point I’m glad I did respond so she could be sure Aunt Lori got the email she intended to send her.  What a blessed woman Aunt Lori is.  It’s people like Gabby and Aunt Lori that make America great.

By Lori Camper

 

4 thoughts on “Veteran’s Day Mail Bag

      1. America is great 🙂 I didn’t know what to expect when I first visited, but it won me over. I’m a regular visitor now, although I have to admit that I don’t think I’d ever consider moving to your side of the pond. And that’s mainly due to gun laws. The kind of news that is everyday in America – people getting shot and so on – is so rare in the UK. Everything else about the place I love 🙂

        Like

  1. It is true that we have a crime problem here. The problem is the people, not the guns.
    There are people saved by guns everyday in America too, but those accounts don’t make the news.

    Like

Leave a reply

