Stand Up and Be Recognized: Liebster Award

Thank you Sarah Angleton at The Practical Historian  for nominating my blog for The Liebster Award. If you’re a history lover, her blog is definitely for you.

“What is the Liebster Award?” you may ask.  It is a way for bloggers to recognize the little guy–new and/or upcoming bloggers that don’t have a large following.  There is no official website, rules, or prize.  Bloggers recognize fellow bloggers for the award.

The Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.

3. You must nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

The Questions:

1. WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST JOB?

My first paying job was babysitting. I started babysitting at a pretty young age at my parents’ home while my mom was there. It was a good experience for me. I made a whopping 25 cents an hour.

My birthday is late in the summer, so while a lot of my high school friends were 16, legally driving, and working at local fast food restaurants, I was not. The summer that I was 15 turning 16 I babysat for a family that both parents worked. Driving several miles to their house every morning with my dad in the passenger seat was my driver’s education.

My first job working for a corporation was a local amusement park. I made a whole $3 an hour which at that time was slightly below minimum wage. Since it was a seasonal job, they got out of paying minimum wage. Since I worked in food service, I got paid more than a lot of the employees there. The ride operators and ground crew were paid even less.

It was a good experience in that I had to learn to work with others and to deal with the public. I also made a life-long friend while working there. My friend Mary has a completely different cultural background than I do and grew up in the city. Our new friendship was a good experience for both of us. Working at the park was a not so good experience in that we were all kids. The manager at the restaurant I worked at was only a few years older than I was and a complete jerk.

2. WHY DID YOU START BLOGGING?

The first website I had was with geocities years ago. Later, I bought my own domain. I like to write, so I later added a blog when blogging became popular. My problem with writing is finding the time.

3. WHAT KIND OF FAMILY DID YOU GROW UP IN?

Pretty much Leave it to Beaver except there were two girls in my family instead of two boys.

4. IS THIS WHERE YOU THOUGHT YOU’D BE AT THIS AGE?

When I was a child and even a young adult, I thought anything over 40 was ancient and an eternity away. I couldn’t even comprehending living to be that old let alone where I’d be. I remember at one point telling my dad that I’d never get married. He told me that I’d live a very lonely life. In my 20’s, I decided I would never marry a man with kids. Then, I remember deciding that I’d never have children. So far, I’m batting a zero. Being happy and content is the important thing, and that I am.

Haystack Rock seen from Cannon Beach
Haystack Rock seen from Cannon Beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE PLACE YOU’VE EVER VISITED?

Cannon Beach, Oregon

6. IF YOU COULD TRAVEL ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, WHERE WOULD YOU GO?

If I could travel anywhere, I’d go to Europe. We have identified some of our immigrant ancestors and where they came from, and I would like to visit their homeland.

7. WHAT’S THE MOST EXPENSIVE THING YOU’VE EVER PURCHASED?

Our home.

8. CAT OR DOG PERSON?

Definitely a dog person. Our dog of 16 years passed away last November. I am without a dog for the first time in my life. However, we now have a cat and I am becoming a cat person.

9. WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE MOVIE?

I don’t watch tv, and we rarely go to a movie. If I did have a favorite, it would probably be 30 years old.

10. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE SEASON AND WHY?

Fall tree branch leaves along riverMy favorite season is fall. After a hot, muggy summer, the cool, crisp air of fall is so refreshing. It’s nice to be able to open the windows after having them closed and having the air conditioner on all summer. The vibrant colors that we have here for fall are also amazingly beautiful.

My 10 nominations for the Liebster Award:

  1. Mission Possible
  2. Noggingquest’s Weblog
  3. My Full Cup
  4. NWMINNESOTAMO
  5. Right of Center
  6. Confessions of an Imperfect Homeschooler
  7. . . . and a sprinkle of love
  8. Golden Star Poetry
  9. Jennifer A. Janes
  10.  Notes from Dawn

This was a tough decision.  I originally had 12 nominations and had to cut two out.   As far as questions, my nominated blogs can answer the same questions I did.

By Lori Camper

Leave a reply

